Жан-Пьер Фролих

Biography

Born in New York, Mr. Frohlich trained at the School of American Ballet. As a child he danced the role of the Prince in George Balanchine’s Nutcracker for three successive seasons and in 1965 Balanchine created a role for him in Don Quixote. In 1972, while a student, he appeared in the premiere of Jerome Robbins’s Watermill, later that same year he joined the New York City Ballet and in 1979 was promoted to the rank of Soloist. His repertory included A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Puck), Symphony in Three Movement, Mozartiana, Western Symphony, Union Jack, Danses Concertantes, Don Quixote, La Somnambula, Chaconne, Stars and Stripes, Valse Fantaisie, Apollo, Symphony in C and La Valse. He danced leading roles in Robbins’s Dances at a Gathering, The Goldberg Variations, Interplay, The Four Seasons, Fancy Free, Afternoon of a Faun, The Concert and Piano Pieces.

Mr. Frohlich has been seen nationally on such television program as the “Live From Lincoln Center” broadcast of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, the “Great Performances: Dance in America” broadcast of Choreography By Jerome Robbins With The New York City Ballet and the 1987 ASCAP Celebration telecast, Live from Wolftrap.

Mr. Frohlich became a Ballet Master in 1990 and one of his primary responsibilities in this capacity was to assist Mr. Robbins in staging many of his ballets and is now over seeing his repertoire at the New York City Ballet. Also upon Mr. Robbins death he appointed Mr. Frohlich to be a committee member for the Robbins Rights Trust in which he is serving. He has stage works for Australian Ballet, Ballet Frankfurt, National Ballet of Canada, Paris Opera Ballet, The Royal Ballet, The Birmingham Royal Ballet, San Francisco Ballet, Stuttgart Ballet, Ballet Geneva, Vienna Opera, Chicago Joffrey Ballet, Hamburg Ballet, Boston Ballet and Dutch National Ballet. In 1998 and in 2006 Mr. Frohlich received The Isadora Duncan Dance Award (Izzies) for the best stage ballets in the San Francisco bay area.

In 2011 Mr. Frohlich was appointed Artistic Administrator/Director of the newly formed New City Ballet’s “MOVES” touring company and has choreographed several works for the School of American Ballet and the New York City Ballet workshops. Recently his dance for two, Varied Trio (in four), had its New York premier at Lincoln Center with the New York City Ballet in 2014 and is currently in the NYCB repertory. Mr Frohlich choreographed and directed HOME (revisited) a short dance narrative film.

In 2015 Mr. Frohlich was awarded Officier des Arts et Lettres from the French Government’s Ministry of Culture.
General sponsor of the Bolshoi Theatre is Credit Suisse bank
General partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is investment group Absolute
Privileged partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is GUM

Жан-Пьер Фролих

Биография

Родился в Нью-Йорке, обучался в Школе Американского балета. Ребенком на протяжении трех сезонов исполнял роль Принца в «Щелкунчике» Джорджа Баланчина, который в 1965 создал для него роль в «Дон Кихоте». В 1972, будучи студентом, участвовал в премьере балета Джерома Роббинса «Водяная мельница», в том же году поступил в труппу Нью-Йорк Сити Балле, в 1979 стал солистом. В его репертуар вошли балеты «Сон в летнюю ночь» (Пэк), «Симфония в трех частях», «Моцартиана», «Симфония Дальнего Запада», «Юнион Джек», «Концертные танцы», «Дон Кихот», «Сомнамбула», «Чакона», «Звезды и полосы», «Вальс-фантазия», «Аполлон», «Симфония до мажор» и «Вальс». Исполнял главные партии в балтах Роббинса «Танцы на вечеринке», «Гольдберг-вариации», «Игры», «Времена года», «Матросы на берегу», «Послеполуденный отдых фавна», «Концерт» и «Фортепианные пьесы».

Участвовал в телетрансляциях балетов «Сон в летнюю ночь» из серии «Прямой эфир из Линкольн-центра», «Хореография Джерома Роббинса в Нью-Йорк Сити Балле» из серии «Великие спектакли: Танец в Америке» и «Прямой эфир из Вулфтрапа» в 1987 (юбилей ASCAP/Американского общества композиторов, авторов и издателей).

В 1990 становится балетмейстером, ассистирует Роббинсу на постановках многих из его работ, в настоящее время курирует его репертуар в НЙСБ. После смерти Роббинса вошел в комитет Фонда авторских прав Роббинса, где состоит по настоящее время. Осуществлял постановки в Австралийском балете, Балетах Франкфурта, Сан-Франциско, Штутгарта, Женевы, Гамбурга и Бостона, Национальных балетах Канады и Нидерландов, балетных труппах Парижской национальной оперы, лондонской и бирмингемской Королевских опер, Венской оперы, в чикагском Джоффри Балле. В 1998 и в 2006 был награжден Премией Айседоры Дункан (Izzies) за лучшие балетные постановки Залива Сан-Франциско.

В 2011 был назначен художественным администратором / директором созданной при НЙСБ гастрольной компании «MOVES» и создал несколько работ для Школы Американского балета и для мастерских НЙСБ. В 2014 поставил для НЙСБ дуэт «Varied Trio (in four)», остающийся в репертуаре до сегодняшнего дня. Выступил хореографом и режиссером короткометражного танцевального фильма «HOME (revisited)».

В 2015 Жан-Пьер Фролих стал Офицером Ордена искусств и литературы (Франция).
Генеральный спонсор Большого театра – банк Credit Suisse
Генеральный партнер Большого театра – инвестиционная группа Абсолют
Привилегированный партнер Большого театра – ГУМ