The gospel of John. Chapter 11.

Now a certain man was sick, named Lazarus, of Bethany, the town of Mary and her sister Martha. (It was that Mary which anointed the Lord with ointment, and wiped his feet with her hair, whose brother Lazarus was sick.)

Therefore his sisters sent unto him, saying, Lord, behold, he whom thou lovest is sick. When Jesus heard that, he said, This sickness is not unto death, but for the glory of God, that the Son of God might be glorified thereby. <…> Then after that saith he to his disciples, Let us go into Judaea again.<…> Then when Jesus came, he found that he had lain in the grave four days already.

Now Bethany was nigh unto Jerusalem, about fifteen furlongs off: and many of the Jews came to Martha and Mary, to comfort them concerning their brother. Then Martha, as soon as she heard that Jesus was coming, went and met him: but Mary sat still in the house. Then said Martha unto Jesus, Lord, if thou hadst been here, my brother had not died. But I know, that even now, whatsoever thou wilt ask of God, God will give it thee.

Jesus saith unto her, Thy brother shall rise again. <…> I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die. Believest thou this? She saith unto him, Yea, Lord: I believe that thou art the Christ, the Son of God, which should come into the world. And when she had so said, she went her way, and called Mary her sister secretly, saying, The Master is come, and calleth for thee.

<…> When Jesus therefore saw her weeping, and the Jews also weeping which came with her, he groaned in the spirit, and was troubled, And said, Where have you laid him? They said unto him, Lord, come and see. <…> Jesus therefore again groaning in himself cometh to the grave. It was a cave, and a stone lay upon it.

Jesus said, Take away the stone. Martha, the sister of him that was dead, saith unto him, Lord, by this time he stinketh: for he hath been dead four days. Jesus saith unto her, Said I not unto thee, that, if thou wouldest believe, thou shouldest see the glory of God?

Then they took away the stone from the place where the dead was laid. And Jesus lifted up his eyes, and said, Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me. And I knew that thou hearest me always: but because of the people which stand by I said it, that they may believe that thou hast sent me.

And when he thus had spoken, he cried with a loud voice, Lazarus, come forth.

And he that was dead came forth, bound hand and foot with grave clothes: and his face was bound about with a napkin. Jesus saith unto them, Loose him, and let him go.

Then many of the Jews which came to Mary, and had seen the things which Jesus did, believed on him.

But some of them went their ways to the Pharisees, and told them what things Jesus had done.



				
General sponsor of the Bolshoi Theatre is Credit Suisse bank
General partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is investment group Absolute
Privileged partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is GUM

Евангелие от Иоанна. Глава 11.

Был болен некто Лазарь из Вифании, из селения, где жили Мария и Марфа, сестра ее. Мария же, которой брат Лазарь был болен, была та, которая помазала Господа миром и отерла ноги Его волосами своими.

Сестры послали сказать Ему: Господи! вот, кого Ты любишь, болен. Иисус, услышав то, сказал: эта болезнь не к смерти, но к славе Божией, да прославится через нее Сын Божий. <…> После этого сказал ученикам: пойдем опять в Иудею. Иисус, придя, нашел, что он уже четыре дня в гробе.

Вифания же была близ Иерусалима, стадиях в пятнадцати; и многие из Иудеев пришли к Марфе и Марии утешать их в печали о брате их. Марфа, услышав, что идет Иисус, пошла навстречу Ему. Тогда Марфа сказала Иисусу: Господи! если бы Ты был здесь, не умер бы брат мой. Но и теперь знаю, что чего Ты попросишь у Бога, даст Тебе Бог.

Иисус говорит ей: воскреснет брат твой. <…> Я есмь воскресение и жизнь; верующий в Меня, если и умрет, оживет. И всякий, живущий и верующий в Меня, не умрет вовек. Веришь ли сему? Она говорит Ему: так, Господи! я верую, что Ты Христос, Сын Божий, грядущий в мир. Сказав это, пошла и позвала тайно Марию, сестру свою, говоря: Учитель здесь и зовет тебя. <…>

Иисус, когда увидел ее плачущую и пришедших с нею Иудеев плачущих, Сам восскорбел духом и возмутился и сказал: где вы положили его? Говорят Ему: Господи! пойди и посмотри. <…> Иисус же, опять скорбя внутренно, приходит ко гробу. То была пещера, и камень лежал на ней.

Иисус говорит: отнимите камень. Сестра умершего, Марфа, говорит Ему: Господи! уже смердит; ибо четыре дня, как он во гробе. Иисус говорит ей: не сказал ли Я тебе, что, если будешь веровать, увидишь славу Божию?

Итак отняли камень от пещеры, где лежал умерший. Иисус же возвел очи к небу и сказал: Отче! благодарю Тебя, что Ты услышал Меня. Я и знал, что Ты всегда услышишь Меня; но сказал сие для народа, здесь стоящего, чтобы поверили, что Ты послал Меня.

Сказав это, Он воззвал громким голосом: Лазарь! иди вон.

И вышел умерший, обвитый по рукам и ногам погребальными пеленами, и лице его обвязано было платком. Иисус говорит им: развяжите его, пусть идет.

Тогда многие из Иудеев, пришедших к Марии и видевших, что сотворил Иисус, уверовали в Него.

А некоторые из них пошли к фарисеям и сказали им, что сделал Иисус.