Scene One: Butter Week (Shrovetide) Carnival
Scene Two: Petrouchka’s Cell
Scene Three: The Moor’s Room
Scene Four: Butter Week Carnival (towards evening)

Original authorial version

During the Butter Week (Shrovetide) revelry an old Charlatan, of Eastern mien, displays his puppets who have come to life: Petrushka, the Ballerina and the Moor, who are performing a furious dance amidst an astonished crowd. Via his magic gift, the Charlatan has invested his puppets with the feelings and passions of real people. Petrushka has been given more feelings than the others, and he suffers more than the Ballerina and the Moor.

He is bitterly aware of the Charlatan’s cruelty, his own lack of freedom, his isolation from the rest of the world, his ugly, comical appearance. He seeks consolation in the love of the Ballerina and it seems to him that she reciprocates his feelings when, in fact, she is only frightened of his eccentricities and she tries to avoid him.

The life of the stupid, bad-tempered, but well-turned out Moor is the total opposite of that of Petrushka. The Ballerina finds him attractive and goes out of her way to charm him. Eventually, of course, she succeeds but Petrushka, mad with jealousy, bursts into the room and puts an end to the love-making. The Moor loses his temper and turnsPetrushka out.

The Butter Week revelry reaches an all-time high. A merchant’s son, making merry with some gypsy girls, throws stacks of notes to the crowd, courtcoachmen dance with nurses in holiday attire; a group of mummers involves everyone in a wild knees-up. When the carousing is at its height, sobs from the Charlatan’s theatre are heard. Them is understanding between the Moor and Petrushka has taken a turn for the worse. The live dolls run out into the street. With a blow of his sabre, the Moor fells Petrushka to the ground, and poor Petrushka lies dying in the snow, surrounded by a crowd of drunken idlers. The Charlatan, escorted to the scene by the Policeman on duty, hastens to calm everyone down. In his hands, Petrushka regains his original doll-like appearance and the crowd, having seen that his shattered head is made of wood, and his body filled with sawdust, disperse. But there is a nasty surprise in store for the cunning Charlatan, who remains alone, with his puppet; to his horror Petrushka’s ghost appears above the theatre: he threatens his tormentor and mocks all those who had believed in his death.



				
General sponsor of the Bolshoi Theatre is Credit Suisse bank
General partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is investment group Absolute
Privileged partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is GUM
Bolshoi Ballet Official Sponsor is Nestlé company

Картина 1. Народные гуляния на масленой
Картина 2. У Петрушки
Картина 3. У Арапа
Картина 4. Народные гулянья на масленой (под вечер)

Авторская программа

Во время масленичного разгула старый фокусник восточного типа показывает оживших кукол: Петрушку, Балерину и Арапа, исполняющих бешеный танец среди изумленной толпы. Магия Фокусника сообщила куклам чувства и страсти настоящих людей. Богаче других наделен ими Петрушка: он и страдает больше, чем и Балерина, и Арап.

Горько чувствует он жестокость Фокусника, свою неволю, свою отрезанность от прочего мира, свой уродливый и смешной вид. Утешения он ищет в любви Балерины и ему кажется, что он находит ответ в ее сердце, однако на самом деле она только боится его странностей и избегает его.

Жизнь Арапа, глупого, злого, но нарядного являет полную противоположность жизни Петрушки. Он нравится Балерине, которая всячески старается очаровать его. Это ей, наконец, удается, но врывается бешеный от ревности Петрушка и нарушает любовное объяснение. Арап свирепеет и выгоняет Петрушку вон.

Масленичное веселье достигает крайних пределов. Гуляющий с цыганками купчик бросает толпе кипы ассигнаций, придворные кучера танцуют с нарядными кормилицами; толпа ряженых увлекает всех в диком плясе. В момент наибольшего разгула слышны вопли из театра Фокусника. Недоразумение между Арапом и Петрушкой приняло острый оборот. Ожившие куклы выбегают на улицу, Арап поражает Петрушку ударом сабли, и жалкий Петрушка умирает на снегу, окруженный толпой гуляк. Фокусник, приведенный будочником, спешит всех успокоить. Под его руками Петрушка снова возвращается в свой первоначальный кукольный вид, и толпа, удостоверившись в том, что раздробленная голова сделана из дерева, а тело набито опилками, расходится. Но не так просто кончается дело для самого лукавого Фокусника, оставшегося наедине с куклой; к ужасу его над театриком появляется привидение Петрушки, которое грозит своему мучителю и издевается над всеми, поверившими в наваждение.



				
Генеральный спонсор Большого театра – банк Credit Suisse
Генеральный партнер Большого театра – инвестиционная группа Абсолют
Привилегированный партнер Большого театра – ГУМ
Официальный спонсор балета Большого театра – компания Nestlé