Historic Stage

30 May, 7 pm


JULIO BOCCA – ballet star, artistic director of The National Ballet of Uruguay/ Ballet Nacional del Sodre, the first Benois de le danse laureate

JORMA ELO – ex-dancer, choreographer, coach, in 2005-15 resident choreographer of the Boston Ballet, Benois de le danse laureate

SEONG JIN KANG – ex-ballerina of the Stuttgart Ballet, Artistic Director of the Korean National Ballet, Benois de le danse laureate

JULIE KENT - ex-ballerina of ABT, Artistic Director of the Washington Ballet, Benois de le danse laureate

MANUEL LEGRIS – ex-etoile of the Paris National Opera Ballet Company, Artistic Director of the Vienna State Ballet, Benois de le danse laureate

BRIGITTE LEFÈVRE – ex-director of the Paris National Opera Ballet Company, Festival de Danse de Cannes Artistic Director

SVETLANA ZAKHAROVA – the Bolshoi Ballet principal dancer, La Scala Ballet etoile, twice Benois de le danse laureate


With the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation


At the end of May the 25th anniversary of Benois de la Danse will be celebrated on the Historical Stage of the Bolshoi Theatre. The audience can see not only the brightest works that have appeared during the past year, but also the best pieces that have been done in the world of ballet in the last quarter of a century. On May 30, will be hold a Gala-concert Stars Défilé and Benois de la Danse New Laureates. On May 31 will take place Gala-concert Benois de la Danse Stars in a Quarter of a Century.

Benois-2017 Prize For Lifetime Achievement has been awarded to an outstanding ballerina-actress Marcia Haydee. The ceremony will start with the defile of all Benois laureates and Jury members who will gather this day in Moscow. The jubilee gala on May 30 will be opened by Joseph Walsh, the premier of the San Francisco Ballet, and Victoria Jaiani from the Joffrey Ballet in Chicago, who last year performed the duet from Lan Lubovitch’s Otello alongside Fabrice Calmel. Victoria and Joseph will animate the sculpture of Benois de la Danse: they will present a miniature choreographed by Yuri Possokhov to the music by Ilya Demutsky, who have conceived this duet as a gift to the jubilee of Benois. The idea to “breathe life” into the prize’s symbol belongs to its author — Igor Ustinov. And for the first time in the history of Benois, the nominees’ gala will feature four Etoiles from the Paris Opera! Ludmila Pagliero and Matthias Heymann will perform Jerome Robbins’ Other Dances, and Hugo Marchand will dance the duet from Romeo and Juliet choreographed by Rudolph Nureyev and Leonore Baulac. The audience will also be treated to fragments from pieces signed by stars of contemporary choreography, including Edward Klug’s latest work, which was premiered recently in Dortmund, and two duets from legends — Salome and John the Baptist by Demis Volpi, as well as Dido and Aeneas, which is accompanied by Dido’s aria from the Opera by H. Purcell and choreographed by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. In addition, Joseph Walsh and Lauren Strongin will perform the duet from Scarlatti’s Seven Sonatas by Alexey Ratmansky.



SIDI LARBI CHERKAOUI – Exhibition, Modest Mussorgsky/ Maurice Ravel, Royal Ballet of Flanders

EDWARD CLUG – Handman, Milko Lazar, NederlandsDans Theatre

HYO-HYUNG KANG – Into the Pulse, Puri, Korean National Ballet

AKRAM KHAN – Giselle, Vincenzo Lamagna after Adolphe Adam, English National Ballet

CRYSTAL PITE – The Seasons’ Canon, Antonio Vivaldi, Max Richter, Paris Opera Ballet

ALEXEI RATMANSKY – Serenade after Plato’s Symposium, Leonard Bernstein, American Ballet Theatre

DEMIS VOLPI – Salomé, different composers, Stuttgart State Ballet


STELLA ABRERA – Princesse Aurora, The Sleeping Beauty, P.Tchaikovsky/M.Petipa, A.Ratmansky’s version, American Ballet Theatre

NINA KAPTSOVA — Short Time Together, M.Richter, L.Bethoven/P.Lightfoot, S.Leon, Bolshoi Theatre

MISA KURANAGA – Tatiana, Onegin, P.Tchaikovsky/J.Cranko; Medora, Le Corsaire, A.Adam/M.Petipa, I.Liška’s version, Boston Ballet

LUDMILA PAGLIERO – Other Dances, F.Chopen/J.Robbins, Paris Opera Ballet

SEUL-KI PARK – Aegina, Spartacus, A.Khachaturian/Y.Grigorovich, Korean National Ballet

MARIA RICCETTO – Tatiana, Onegin, P.Tchaikovsky/J.Cranko, National Ballet of Uruguay


GUSTAVO CARVALHO – Don Jose, Carmen, G.Bizet/M.Haydée, National Ballet of Uruguay

DAVIDE DATO – Abderakhman, Raymonde, A.Glazunov/M.Petipa, R. Noureyev’s version, Vienna State Ballet

JAE-WOO LEE – Karabosse, The Sleeping Beauty, P.Tchaikovsky/M.Petipa, M.Haydée’s version, Korean National Ballet

BROOKLYN MACK – Leading part, Theme and Variations,P.Tchaikovsky/G.Balanchine, Washington Ballet

HUGO MARCHAND – Title role, Romeo and Juliet, S.Prokofiev/R.Noureyev, Paris Opera Ballet

DENIS RODKIN – Solor, La Bayadère, L.Minkus/M. Petipa, Y.Grigorovich’s version, Bolshoi Theatre

JEFFREY CIRIO – Colas, La Fille Mal Gardée, F.Herold/F.Ashton; Title role, Prodigal Son, S.Prokofiev/G.Balanchine, American Ballet Theatre

General sponsor of the Bolshoi Theatre is Ingosstrakh Insurance Company
General partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is investment group Absolute
Privileged sponsor of the Bolshoi Theatre is Credit Suisse bank
Privileged partner of the Bolshoi Theatre is GUM